30 Years Of Wrestlemania….What It Means To Me

My first memory of wrestling was when I was 12 years old, flipping through channels on a Saturday morning. I turned on the former WWOR network, in New York. I saw what seemed to be a talk show. I knew who Hulk Hogan was, so I saw him standing there. I also knew who Andre The Giant was, from interviews, and of course he was about to be in the movie “The Princess Bride”. So I knew who the two main people involved were. Hulk Hogan was the then, WWF champion. Bobby “The Brain” Heenan informed Hulk his good friend Andre wants a title shot. Andre confirmed this by ripping off his cross, and walking away.

From that point, I was hooked.

Something about that, and I know now why, it was the two men involved. They carried so much charisma, they held the fans on their fingers. The camera panned, and saw crying kids. It had a big impact, and let’s face it, Wrestlemania 3 was the even that put Wrestlemania on the map.

Don’t get me wrong, without Mr. T, or “Rowdy” Roddy Piper, there would never had been a Wrestlemania I. But Wrestlemania 3 was the real money-maker.

The moment Hogan slammed Andre, with 70,000+ screaming fans in the Pontiac Silverdome, wrestling never looked the same, again. I became a fan. I watched Wrestlemania 3 scrambled….old school. There was no digital cable, so my TV connection had PPVs, I just couldn’t see it, but I heard what was going on. Then when they became available, I rented them at the video store, and watched them in its entirety. My first PPV that I purchased was Summerslam 1988, where it was “Mega-Powers Vs Mega-Bucks”. My first Wrestlemania I purchased was Warrior Vs Hogan, at Wrestlemania 6. Which brings me to this weekend.

The Ultimate Warrior will be inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame. Hulk Hogan is the host of Wrestlemania. Mr. T is inducted too for his role in Wrestlemania I and II. And, we are going to have an Andre The Giant 30-man Battle Royal.

In other words, this is their legacy.

Now, we can all agree that the buildup to Mania 30 has been poor, at best. However, what I am going to say is it’s still Wrestlemania. You know the men and women will work hard, to entertain us, and keep us on the edge of our seats. I watched the Wrestlemania press conference a few days ago, and it brought back memories.

I am 38 years old, I started to watch wrestling at the age of 12. 27 years, I have been invested in seeing what is going to take place, and where we go from here. Every Monday night, I watch Raw. I remember what it was like not having wrestling on Monday nights. I remember when USA Network had “Primetime Wrestling” with Gorilla Monsoon and Bobby “The Brain” Heenan as our hosts. I remember the very thought of Monday Night Raw, and when they started, I truly missed Primetime. But now, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Because without Raw, there wouldn’t have been WCW Nitro, and without the “Monday Night Wars”, there wouldn’t be any “Attitude Era”.

It’s truly amazing we can watch this all on WWE Network. I am re-living these moments, the good, the bad, the in between. And with that, I can watch the Hall of Fame ceremony this weekend, and Wrestlemania 30.

This is not an infomercial, I am not telling you to purchase it, but I did, and now I can watch the very same moments that grew me to wrestling with my family. I can show people certain elements that had me hooked in wrestling.

And no matter how crappy the build is, it’s still Wrestlemania. It will always be special.

What is your Wrestlemania memories? Share with me here.

About Kevin Gillman
I have had this blog up for a few years, writing every Monday night and anytime in between. Always check the site out, send me a comment on what your thoughts are for the current state of wrestling.

8 Responses to 30 Years Of Wrestlemania….What It Means To Me

  1. adztheman says:

    Thinking about getting the WWE Network just to see the Induction Ceremony, just to hear what Scott Hall and Jake the Snake have to say…and to watch Amy Dumas, who will likely be the final deserving Diva to make it in…name me somebody else that even comes close..

    Wonder if Ultimate Warrior will go out and do a shoot on Hulk Hogan, since he has accused him of just about everything but clubbing baby seals on youtube.

    Wrestlemania has been marginalized over time…you and I remember when it was the one card where every title was defended…

    This year..we get…one..

    I know its actually 2, but one is on the pre show…

    I just don’t look forward to it like I did when I was younger…I still have not seen last year’s version..this year’s is essentially four matches worth…Taker Brock, Trips Bryan, and the title match, along with Cena Wyatt.

    I actually want to see a Cena match…the mind reels..

    What we get now are the night after Raws that overshadow, and sometimes totally blow away, the WM from the night before…

    You just get the feeling that will happen again next year..

    Something of an unintended consequence concerns me..

    When will this year’s WM be added to the lineup of the 29 that came before it?

    Once that happens, do you rush out and get the DVD six weeks from now?

    If you have digital access to this library, what’s the point of getting the DVD?

    Anybody in Stamford think about that?

    I would love to go live and just destroy the Divas verbally..I can’t believe they are going to waste a slot on this nonsense…

    I like A-J..I think she has the ability to be the female version of CM Punk…the rest of the 13 in this match, I could care less..I hope Amy and Trish go into their locker room and scream at them for a while, and remind them that they will never scale the heights they did..not even close..

    • The divas aren’t what it used to be, but I might have one diva that deserves to go in, and that’s Madusa, and Sunny.

      The Network is worth, even if you will just have it for 6 months, and yeah the DVD thing will disappear, because they just put HHH’s piece on there this past weekend. Now I am waiting for the history of Mania DVD. But watching WCW PPVs is fun, especially the bad matches…LOL

      In terms of this Mania, I do want to see the Battle Royal as well. I think Rusev will be debuting and win.

      But I am also looking forward to the Hall of Fame, because this is live, and uncut. So hearing what Warrior will say will be very fun…LOL

      • adztheman says:

        Sunny is already in..she was the first to be inducted..Elizabeth should be in..don’t know if she was part of the whole ”Poffo Family” demand that Randy was in negotiations over before he died a few years ago…

        Wonder if Hogan will disappear for a while when Warrior goes in..a lot of people are wondering who will be the final inductee, whether Warrior or Scott Hall gets that designation…it should be Amy Dumas..hoping here that it is..she’s earned it..

      • It should be Warrior, Razor never won the World Title, let him be the main event when the entire NWO gets in a few years.

  2. I really like WM7. I’m not sure why, but it really has a hold over me.

    • WM7 had some moments for sure. Savage Vs Warrior, the last Mania we saw The Rockers tag, Hogan-Slaughter. I liked WM7 too.

      • It was also the start of the Takers insane run, Virgil beat Ted DiBiase. Bulldog had a good match with the Warlord. Kerry Von Erich was there. Jake’s fued with Rick Martel was settled quite a good gimick match too (shame you could see the eye holes though).
        Overall it is better than people give it credit for. Shame Hogan won, but hey.

      • Yeah, I liked the Warlord Vs Bulldog match, and actually Hart Foundation Vs Nasty Boys match was good, not to mention the last PPV Demolition would compete in. And Brain was fantastic, as always on commentary. I think the reason why people don’t give credit to it is the main angle. Hogan vs Slaughter was just too soon from the Desert Storm, but Vince was trying to capitalize, so we had that…LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,157 other followers

